Volunteer4orm

Just another WordPress.com weblog

2010 Day 5

Galina and I in sewing class

Today’s post is going to be short coz I’m completely knackered! Spent the early part of the morning in school, at Math & Romanian class and then sewing. Sewing class was really brilliant. The teacher is a real pet and the girls love the class. Some of the embroideries they do are amazing and they also mend clothes for all the girls in the orphanage. It’s fantastic.

After class, Zina (our interpreter) and I took three of the younger girls for a walk and on to the trampoline. I bounced with them for about 45 mins and nearly passed out by the end of it! They loved it though. They’re the kind of girls who really tire you out coz they’re completely hyper but in another way they’re really easy to entertain coz they just like you to run around with them. Some of the quieter girls can actually be more difficult because you have to try so hard to get any sort of reaction.

All the playing took us right up to lunch time, when feeding Irina was a bit of a disaster. It took me the full hour to get about three quarters of her lunch into her. It was tough work getting a spoon full into her mouth and when you eventually did get it in, she’d either roll her head forward and let the food fall out or she’s just sit there, neither chewing nor swallowing, until she got bored. Sometimes then she’d just spit it out, which she thinks is hilarious. At least one of us was having fun!

After lunch Ciara (another volunteer) and I convinced Felicia to get out of her chair and have a short walk. We got her out for a good 20 minutes, it was great. Felicia is really good at walking, she just needs more practise. One of the other volunteers had her out on her bike for ages this morning too, so she’s doing really well.

Queens of the tampoline (having a rest!)

A few of us went into the daily disco as well. As soon as I walked in the door, about ten girls all started screaming my name and came running towards me – I felt like a celebrity! They all wanted hugs and kisses and all wanted to hold my hand. They love to hold hands and dance around in a circle. The only problem is some girls get a bit possessive and always want to be holding my hand, pushing other girls out of the way. So today I tried a new tactic where they all copied my dance moves, which, as you’d expect, are unreal. We did clapping, jumping, hand waving, cardboard box, big fish small fish… you name it. After an hour of that I was fit to pass out. Again.

After the disco I took it easy and hung out with some of the quieter girls. I had zero energy left.

Feeding Irina her dinner was tough as well. The dinner was really liquidy and just fell out of her mouth most of the time. She managed to finish the whole meal though so that was good. After dinner I took her out for a walk, which she loved.

And that brings us up to the end of the day. I’ll definitely sleep tonight. Night night.

Group 17

Cristina & Veronica (two of the sweetest girls in Moldova)

A very colourful Cristina

Ana Banana and I

September 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment